Elected Executive Committee 2016-17

Name Executive Affiliation Email
Michael Lazer President Lakeview Resort mlazer@lakeviewresorts.com
Nic Mundey Past President Noventis Credit Union nmundey@noventis.ca
Peter Holfeuer Vice President Gimli Ice Festival pholfeuer@lifetouch.com
Doriane Johnson Secretary Sobeys sby5176gimli@sobeys.com
Shelly Goodman Treasurer Shel Bookkeeping slgoodman@mymts.net
Cheryl Buhler Executive Member Robin’s robinsgimli@mymts.net
Scott Carman Executive Member Ship & Plough Tavern scott.a.carman@gmail.com
Ingvar Karvelson Executive Member Reenod Holdings Inc. ingvarkarvelson@live.com
Tammy Axelsson Executive Member New Iceland Heritage Museum tsaxelsson@gmail.com
Stefan Tergesen Executive Member H.P. Tergesen & Sons stefan@tergesens.com
John Bucklaschuck Executive Member Royal LePage rwjmb@mts.net
Marc Palsson Executive Member Rona marc@ronagimli.ca
Melanie Specula Executive Member Chicken Chef mspecula@gmail.com
Carrie Arsenault Executive Member Sugar Me Cookies Boutique & Bakery carsenault@mymts.net

Executive Committee Primary Objectives & Strategies

Executive Committee Primary Objectives & Strategies docget copy here

Chamber Committees

The formation and ongoing work of committees play an important role in helping the chamber achieve its overall objectives in supporting its members and business community at large.   Individuals who are ready and willing to contribute their expertise (members and non-members) are encouraged to join a chamber committee.

 

Tourism Committee
Message from Chair, Tammy Axelsson

The objective of this committee is to increase visitation and overnight stays in Gimli and to grow Gimli’s reputation as a premier tourist destination in Manitoba through the development and implementation of a long-term strategic marketing plan.  This will enhance the economy of the community and contribute to ensuring that Gimli remains a great place to live, work and play.

 Committee Members: Stefan Tergesen, Chris Brown, Robin Chestnut, Cheryl Buhler, Syndi Prokopich, Kristen Southcott Redmond

 

Emergency Preparedness Committee
 Message from Chair, Melanie Specula

The objective of this committee is to provide awareness to the business community on the importance of having fire, tornado and other emergency event plans in place at all times and to direct them to official Municipal/Provincial emergency preparedness informational resource sites.

 Committee Members: Doriane Johnson, Vaughan Cochrane Susan Holfeuer

 

Membership Committee

Message from Chair, Peter Holfeuer
The objective of this committee is to grow new members as well as connect, inform and provide relevant support to the chambers overall established membership.

Committee Members: Nic Mundey, Melanie Specula

Gimli Chamber of Commerce Mission & Vision

Our Mission

The mission of the Gimli Chamber of Commerce is to foster sustainable economic growth leading to greater prosperity for business and the community.

Our Vision
The vision of the Gimli Chamber of Commerce is to make Gimli a very desirable place in which to work, live and visit.

Gimli Chamber of Commerce Bi-Lawsget here